New To Colorado?
Colorado Requirements for Residency:
- Own or operate a business in Colorado OR
- Are gainfully employed in Colorado OR
- Reside in Colorado for 90 consecutive days
You must obtain your Colorado driver’s license within 30 days of becoming a Colorado resident, and register your vehicle within 90 days.
Getting a Colorado Driver’s License
If you have a valid driver license from another U.S. state, territory, or possession, you will normally not be required to take the written exam or drive skills test. Your valid out-of-state driver license will be used for identification purposes and to waive testing requirements. Per Colorado law, the license you previously held will be voided.
It is illegal to drive in Colorado without auto insurance. Colorado requires drivers to carry liability limits with a minimum of $25,000 per bodily injury and $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident. In addition, Colorado requires $15,000 property damage liability coverage. Of course, the minimum limits may be too low to adequately protect your assets should you be liable for an accident.
All Colorado driver license offices provide voter registration services. Once your voter registration information is completed at the driver license office, it is then forwarded to the specific county for which you have registered. Driver License employees are prohibited from giving personal opinions regarding voting information or party affiliation. You can also register online, check to see that you are registered, or request a paper voter registration form be sent to you through the mail.
Colorado Department of Revenue – Division of Motor Vehicles
Colorado Department of Revenue – Vehicle Registration
Colorado Secretary of State – Voter Registration
Colorado Department of Labor and Employment
Colorado Department of Transportation